Welcome to my new music blog!

Howdy!

For those who know me, you know that I’m not the most opinionated person in the world.  Politics, world issues, relationships, I usually keep advice or opinions to myself.  However, when it comes to music, I have much to say!  That is why I’ve decided to start a music blog.  My plan for this blog is to share music and opinionated reviews of songs and albums, even concerts.  Basically anything that inspires me to write about music.

Music has been a passion for as long as I can remember.  Particularly rock’n’roll-based music, thanks to my up-bringing and early inspirations.  Whether it’s new music from bands that have been around for a while (Rolling Stones, Pearl Jam, Red Hot Chili Peppers), or bands that are relatively new on the scene like Wintersleep, MGMT, Daniel Wesley, or Silversun Pickups, I’m always eager to share my opinions and recommendations to those who care to listen.  As much as I like to share, I also would be nowhere in my music experience without listening to music recommended to me by friends, parents, magazines and websites, so I encourage sharing of music.  If you have a hidden gem of a band or artist that is new to the scene or has somehow slipped under the radar of the music industry, past or present, fill me in!  I won’t promise to like it, but I will give pretty well anything a chance (few exceptions apply: Miley Cyrus, Britney Spears, Justin Bieber, etc.)

If your music collection consists of a few or many of the following bands (in no particular order), you may be interested in my blog and musical suggestions and opinions:

  • Alice in Chains
  • Tom Petty
  • My Morning Jacket
  • Sloan
  • Jimmy Eat World
  • Big Wreck
  • Wintersleep
  • Metallica
  • Modest Mouse
  • Matt Mays
  • Arcade Fire
  • Pink Floyd
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • MGMT
  • Pearl Jam
  • Tragically Hip
  • City & Colour
  • Guns N Roses/Slash’s Snakepit/Velvet Revolver/
  • Kings of Leon
  • The White Stripes/Raconteurs/Dead Weather
  • Mumford & Sons
  • Bob Dylan
  • The Shins
  • Sam Roberts
  • Stevie Ray Vaughan
  • Yukon Blonde
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Sublime
  • Foo Fighters
  • The Strokes
  • Kenny Wayne Shepherd
  • Led Zeppelin
  • Priestess

…. I could go on for a while but I’ll leave it at that.  These are only a taste of what my music collection consists of.  I think it gives a pretty good overview of current music as well as music from the past.  You’ll also notice that if you are primarily a country music or R&B/Top 40 music fan, you won’t care much for what I have to say (with a few minor exceptions: Brad Paisley, Dwight Yoakam, Garth Brooks & Katy Perry).

So, there you have it.  I also want to hear from you, the reader, about what you are listening to, what new album you were disappointed with, what concert blew you away, etc.  Even if you disagree with any reviews or opinions, I want to hear it!

Look forward to sharing and hearing from you and your musical conquests!

Cheers,

Dylan

~ by whet_hopped on May 20, 2010.

12 Responses to “Welcome to my new music blog!”

  1. cool blog Dylan! I suggest your next topic be “guilty pleasures” in your music collection. Here is one of mine: Tubthumping – Chumbawumba. I can’t help it, the song just speaks to me.

    • Brian! Great idea, and great song! Not so sure I’d classify that as a guilty pleasure, those guys rocked! 😛
      Check out “The Good Ship Lifestyle” from those guys, it starts off pretty trippy but picks up for the chorus. Some nice horns even!

  2. Welcome to the wonerful world of blogging Dylan.
    ps. I know you have Bieber Fever… don’t try to deny it!

  3. I love that you are doing this. Such a good way to share music and your opinions of it. Can’t wait to read some of your thoughts!
    Ps: my guilty pleasure……Justin Timberlake.

    • Hey Ashley! Thanks for the feedback, I look forward to hear some of your thoughts and opinions as well!
      Oh, and your guilty pleasure: nice! “Cry Me a River” is my personal favourite, if I had to pick one, of course 😛

  4. Great idea Dylhoon!!

    I’ve been into more metal these days. Lovin’ the sounds of Mudvayne, Bloodsimple, All That Remains, and Pantera…worth the listen. Also, check out a video documentary called “Global Metal”…it will make you a fan!!

    Cheers brutha,
    G.

    • Hey Gordo!

      Listening to Bloodsimple’s tune “September” right now, pretty awesome! Not super heavy and screamy (I can’t stand the screaming). I am a fan of Pantera, but again, more-so the songs with singing and not grunting/screaming, such as “Hollow”, “Flood”, and my personal favourite “Cemetary Gates”, can’t say enough about that song! “Cowboys From Hell” is pretty good too. Where can I see this “Global Metal” documentary? It sounds verrrry interesting.

  5. Hey Dylan! This is so cool! You’ve got a good band list going there, I must say. But I have a band for you to check out that’s not on there, if you haven’t heard of them before already- Elias. Listen to “All We Want”- it has a really catchy guitar riff, and listen to “Get Some”. These two songs just put me in a bouncy, feel-good mood. More for the music than for the lyrics though.

    I can’t think of a guilty pleasure song at the moment.

    Yay music blog!

    • Cool stuff Coralie! I will have to check Elias out for sure!
      Oh, and yes, I do like some Muse tunes, have to check out more of their stuff though. I know the common singles such as “Uprising”, “Resistance” and “Starlight”. I think Starlight is my favourite from the ones I know. You’ll have to let me know some good ones that aren’t played on the radio.

  6. OH- And what about Muse?! Do you like them?

  7. […] Welcome to my new music blog! May 2010 11 comments […]

Leave a Reply

 
