Guilty Pleasures, musically speaking.

Alright,

I know it’s only the second day since the official “launch” of my music blog, but it already appears that there’s a subject that is of interest to a few: guilty pleasures.  Thank you, Brian for the idea, nicely done!  A good idea to get the blog interest going, and a way to “come out of the closet” with some musical trysts you aren’t normally comfortable sharing.

For those who are unsure, a ‘guilty pleasure’, musically speaking, is a song or band you feel embarrassed and/or guilty listening to, as if you would be convicted by your peers as lame for owning (or “stealing”) this piece of music.  But nevertheless, you take pleasure in listening to it, which is all that matters, right?

As for my guilty pleasures, I’m a little reluctant to admit that I enjoy Kelly Clarkson.  But I do!  Ok, not ALL Kelly Clarkson, but some.  I don’t own any of her music in any way, shape or form, but whenever I hear “Since U Been Gone”, I can’t help but belt it out, in the same octave even!  Not in tune, mind you.  That’s not the only song I enjoy by the first season American Idol winner: “Behind These Hazel Eyes” is another rocker, similar to the latter; “Because of You” is a softer, sadder ballad, but still a winner; and my all-time Kelly Clarkson favourite: “Low”.  Who hasn’t been low?  Everyone can relate to this one! If only the other Idol winners were as good as her!

Ok, there, it’s all out on the table.  Kelly Clarkson.  Can’t say much more, I s’pose.  I could have admitted my yearning to listen to Katy Perry, or Lady Gaga but I think Kelly tops them all with respect to the embarrassment factor.  All I know is that I’m not the only one, so let’s hear some other guilty pleasures.

Oh, and please don’t judge a book by its cover.  Probably the last time Kelly Clarkson will ever be mentioned in this blog.  But I won’t make any promises…

~ by whet_hopped on May 22, 2010.

7 Responses to “Guilty Pleasures, musically speaking.”

  1. i have bieber fever cant lie

  2. i dont really got a guilty pleasure but i got a band you should check out. there called the dirty heads u should check out the songs lay me down, drifting,believe and stand tall there kinda got sublime feel to them

    • Hey Brennen! Thanks for the recommendations dude! I actually know the song Lay Me Down, and it features the new lead singer from Sublime, which you probably already knew 😛 I quite like the song, it has a strong Sublime vibe which is cool. Just checking out some of their stuff on iTunes right now and it sounds pretty cool, with a diverse blend of hip-hop, reggae and punk. Some good summer beach tunes, for sure! Thanks again for the input!

  3. Huge Justin Timberlake guilty pleasure, although, he’s so popular I’m not sure it’s a guilty pleasure, but I can’t help but feel slightly ashamed that I have one of his extremely catchy albums, and a few singles. As for kelly clarkson, I own breakaway, and it is a pretty good album, she does a nice live cover of beautiful disaster at the very end of the cd.

    • Yea, some people have no shame in owning a little JT. He’s done quite well for himself since parting from NSync and going solo. I guess guilty pleasures really stem from what the rest of your musical repertoire looks like, and how much those guilty pleasures differ from the rest of it. I’m even more impressed that you admit to owning Breakaway from Kelly. That’s… well, that’s something! I actually have to admit that I quite like Hide & Seek by Imogen Heap, the version with just her singing, not the rap version.

  4. Just did a post similar to this. I must admit i own breakaway. Also lady gaga. And i bet i can top everyone………………………Busted
    Ashamed is not the word! The album is kept in a cupboard away from everyone! Haha

Leave a Reply

 
