Sasquatch! Music Festival: the best music event I won’t be at.

So Sasquatch! Festival is on this weekend and I’m writing a blog, which could only mean one thing: I’m obviously not there.  Major bummer.  “Dylan, what the deuce is Sasquatch! Festival, and why are you so bummed?”, you may ask.  For those of you living under a musical rock, or if your radio station of choice is 94.5 the Beat, let me explain: it is a 3-day music extravaganza that takes place every Memorial Day long weekend at the Gorge in Washington, US of A.  The Gorge is a natural outdoor amphitheatre where many music events take place, such as Creationfest, Sasquatch! Festival, Vans Warped Tour and about nine-hundred and forty nine Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers shows.

A few years back, I will honestly tell you that I would not have had any inkling to attend Sasquatch!.  I would have known maybe four acts playing during the whole 3-day event.  As my music tastes have broadened and I’ve been exposed to even more music, particularly indie music, I know closer to twenty bands playing Sasquatch! this year.  Please don’t confuse this as bragging because from these twenty bands, I could name more than one song from about ten of them.

I’m not about to list the 100+ bands or even 20, but what I will do is give you a taste of what you’re missing at Sasquatch! Festival.  Below, I’ve listed a few stand-out bands of the festival with a song recommendation and a short blurb about the band and/or the song.  Also, this list should answer the question posed earlier as to why I’m bummed that I’m not there.

(FYI: All these songs can be heard in their entirety for free on grooveshark.com. (Thanks, Brian!) But, if you like a band, buy their music and see them live, they need your financial support!)

Saturday, May 29, 2010

My Morning Jacket – One Big Holiday Great band (personal fave, actually) with sounds ranging everywhere from Prince to Jimmy Eat World with a bit of old-time country twang as well.  This one is a solid, dynamic rock tune.  (Their live performance on Conan O’Brien hooked me! See it on YouTube)

Vampire Weekend – A-Punk A great spin from a band with many different sounds; this tune is a sunny day.

OK Go – This Too Shall Pass Take an anthemic drum beat, add a little piano for emphasis and some oohs ‘n’ aahs, and you have a winner by OK Go.

Miike Snow – Black & Blue Reminiscent of MGMT, with a little less acid and a little more Daft Punk.

Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man (if you know that one, listen to The Cave) Both tunes are winners from this Irish-sounding British quartet.  Never knew a banjo could sound so sweet; usually I shudder when I hear banjos thanks to Deliverance.

Portugal. The Man – People Say Interesting band from Alaska with a few different sounds, but this one is my favourite.

Sunday, May 30, 2010

City and Colour – Body in a Box Thank you, Dallas Green, for doing what you do best.  Please continue doing it.  No offence to Alexisonfire, or their fans.

Tegan & Sara – Hell I couldn’t have been more surprised to find myself singing along to this song on the radio.  If you haven’t heard it, give it a listen cuz it’s quite catchy.

Jets Overhead – I Should Be Born Another band that is incorporating male and female lead vocals; seems as though this is the way to go these days if you are wanting to break out.  I much prefer this song to Heading For Nowhere, but that’s just me.

Fruit Bats – Primitive Man Another free iTunes download that I quite enjoy.  Interesting acoustic progression and great use of tambourine.

Monday, May 31, 2010

MGMT – Weekend Wars One of the main reasons I wanted to go to Sasquatch!, alas, I will have to wait until July 24th at the Commodore.  This is a real catchy gem, one might even say, a must-listen.

Band of Horses – The General Specific One of my favourite new bands with one of my favourite new songs (well, new to me, but really a few years old).  Really cool alt-country rock with some killer harmonies.  For another sound from these guys, check out The Funeral.

The Temper Trap – Sweet Disposition (if you know that one, listen to Fader) The former is a song everyone knows whether they know it or not.

The Heavy – How You Like Me Now Honestly, the only song I know from these guys and it’s a cover.  Either way, it’s a very cool cover.  It was even on a car commercial!!  (for those of you that don’t know, that’s when you know you’ve made it :P)

Enjoy the songs, unless you don’t read this until Monday evening because you just got back from hearing all of these tunes live at Sasquatch!.  If you are one of those people, you suck (cuz I’m jealous).  But seriously, I’d really like to hear who wow’d you and who didn’t so much.

Until next time.

~ by whet_hopped on May 29, 2010.

7 Responses to “Sasquatch! Music Festival: the best music event I won’t be at.”

  1. Well after listening to these songs, I think My Morning Jacket takes the cake, pretty sweet song, and the singers voice reminds me of an old 90’s band growing up…. just cant put my finger on who though, its kind of driving me crazy actually, any idea? As for the Temper Trap, I’m pretty sure I DON’T know sweet disposition, however it does sound a lot to me like U2 – Where the streets have no name. Anyhoo, pretty decent songs all together, but 3 days of concert is about 3 days too much for me, I’ll stay home and watch my olympic 2010 dvd’s that just came in the mail, thanks.

    • MMJ takes the cake eh? That song was the song that got me into them, like I said, after I saw them perform it on Conan O’Brien. They have a lot of other good songs, but this is probably their best. Their song “Mahgeetah” is another personal favourite by them, but it still doesn’t rock quite as hard as One Big Holiday. Jayme thinks the singer sounds like Van Morrison, but I don’t hear it… I can’t figure who the singer sounds like either, was there a specific song that his voice reminds you of?
      Temper Trap definitely has that drenched reverb sound that Where the Streets Have No Name does, I agree. I know not everyone actually knows this song, but it’s been on a few movies and TV shows and on quite a few radio stations where it gets quite played out. Catchy song, nevertheless.

  2. I have this festival or Coachella on my list for next year. My sister and I decided that we are going to go, stop talking about it and just go.
    This years Sasq lineup would have been amazing. Few that I would have had to see: Laura Marling, the national, vampire weekend, BSS, Nada surf (a high school fave), the posies, mumford & sons, tegan & sara, dirty projectors, TMOE, City & Colour, MGMT, Band of Horses (amazing.), the temper trap, CAMERA OBSCURA!, the heavy, …..seriously too many good ones to name. Would have been a great weekend.

    • Oh man, Coachella would be awesome too! The bonus with Coachella is that its in Cali so the weather would undoubtedly be better, and it would be a sweet road trip!
      Even Bonnaroo would be pretty amazing to go to, but that’s even further of a drive: Dave Matthews band, Kings of Leon, Tenacious D, Weezer, Dead Weather, Phoenix, John Fogerty, The Avett Brothers, Rise Against, The National, Les Claypool, Jeff Beck, Against Me, John Butler Trio, The Gaslight Anthem.. etc etc!
      North America is now rivaling Europe with all the great summer music festivals, too bad they are all pretty far away, geographically speaking. Good luck next year on going! I plan on going to at least one too with Jayme. Maybe we’ll see you there!

  3. slowly working my way through all the bands.
    my morning jacket – not wild about the vocalist, a little weak for my taste, musically not bad though
    tegan and sara – cute and interesting vocals
    the heavy – love the vocals, catchy tunes, might be worth exploring a a little further

    that’s all for today

    • After some further investigation, The Heavy have some pretty decent tunes. They have a song called Sixteen and another one called Long Way From Home that aren’t too bad. The singer is a bald african-american guy, which I didn’t realize until I saw a music video of theirs. They have a cool vintage-y sound with some new rock influences as well.
      Tegan and Sara are hit and miss to me. Hell is pretty good, but some of their other stuff is, to me, kind of weak in comparison. Safe to say I haven’t heard enough to make a final conclusion.
      My Morning Jacket just have a different sound that I like. I know the singer, Jim James doesn’t possess any type of growl or real bite in his voice, but I can’t help but like most of their stuff. I only have 2 of their albums (Evil Urges and It Still Moves), but both are quite good, different, but good. If you enjoy their music and can get over the singer’s voice, listen to Mahgeeta or Dancefloors for some more catchy guitar hooks. They also do a great cover of The Band’s “It Makes No Difference”.

  4. I read it.

Leave a Reply

 
