100.5 The Peak FM: Radio Bliss

My wife and I have always had our musical differences.  This came to light when after we had been dating a while, she admitted to me that she didn’t really like Metallica.  In fact, she didn’t like a lot of music I enjoy(ed).  I also did not like the music she listened to.  She was into “classier” acts than Metallica, such as Enya, Sarah McLachlan, Maroon 5… you get the picture.  We have, however, had a few bands that we mutually enjoy.  We both share a love for the Kings of Leon, and…umm….Flight of the Conchords.  That’s about where it ends.  Or, where it used to end.

As you may have guessed, when we get into either of our vehicles together, there is usually a small debate about which radio station to play, if any at all.  Her Vancouver station of choice would be 94.5 the Beat or 95.3 Virgin (or whateverthehell they are calling that station these days), and I’d choose just about any station BUT those two.  No offense to anyone who adores these stations, just not my cup of tea is all.

So, we had a dilemma.  A dilemma indeed, until one morning, as fate would have it, I was introduced to 100.5 the Peak by a cousin of mine on our way to work one day.  We were carpooling to Maple Ridge in his truck and I can’t remember which song was playing at the time, but I asked him what station he was listening to and he told me “100.5 the Peak”.  I had heard of the station before but had never really given it a fair chance.  On the way home from work that day, we had the radio playing and Fans by Kings of Leon came on the radio.  Being a huge fan of this song, I was quite thrilled and yet a little shocked to hear it on the radio, because until that day, I think the only Kings of Leon songs I ever heard on the radio were Sex On Fire, Use Somebody or The Bucket. And I had heard those songs (particularly the first two) played to death on other radio stations.

My interest had been roused.  When I got home, I looked up this new, bizarre-o radio station and reviewed their 12-hour playlist.  Not being terribly familiar with indie music at the time, I didn’t know a lot the songs on their playlist.  I was already a fan of several bands they were playing such as The Trews, Sloan, Sam Roberts and The Clash, but was keen on expanding my horizons so I began listening to the station.  And still do to this day, now, more than any other station.  Also, my wife and I now have mutual consent for one radio station, which is a bit of a miracle in itself, so thank-you, the Peak!  (She loves the Cold War Kids, Mumford & Sons and the Avett Brothers)

What I appreciate about the station is their vast repertoire of music from not only today but from the 90’s, 80’s and even a little bit of 70’s.  Now, if you’re strictly a metalhead, you likely won’t enjoy this station.  If all you want to hear all day is Zeppelin, Floyd, the Stones and Deep Purple, stick with Rock 101.  If all you want is Nickelback, Theory of a Deadman and Three Days Grace… you most likely won’t enjoy the Peak (or much of what I have to say about music, for that matter…).  However, if you wish to hear everything from Nirvana to Adele to Death Cab For Cutie, then The Peak is the station for you.

Here’s an example of the variety of awesome artists and their songs I’ve discovered thanks in full to 100.5 the Peak!  Check out the songs if you haven’t heard them, and check out the Peak!!

Broken Bells – The High Road If you like The Shins and/or Gnarls Barkley, you’ll probably enjoy this

The Zolas – You’re Too Cool Cool chord progression and lyrics! Local Vancouver band, as well.

The Dudes – Girl Police Calgary band with some fun lyrics, great melodies. Funny video, too.

The Avett Brothers – Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise Continuing that great lyric theme, this tune is right up there; a beautiful song!

Silversun Pickups – Substitution California band often compared to the Smashing Pumpkins.

Mother Mother – Wrecking Ball Cool Canadian band with shared male/female lead vocals and some funky banjo!

Band of Skulls – Death By Diamonds & Pearls A White Stripes infused rocker!

Vince Vaccaro – Costa Rica (Song begins 2:40 in) Really wish I knew of this song when I was in Costa Rica in December… so sweet.

Band of Horses – Is There A Ghost? 3 simple lines carried over 3 minutes = simple brilliance.

Golden Dogs – “1985” A Paul McCartney cover and very well done, with a great guitar solo to close it out!

Great Lake Swimmers – Still Simple yet effective acoustic work, and some more deep lyrics.

Enjoy, and check out 100.5 the Peak if you haven’t already!

~ by whet_hopped on June 6, 2010.

6 Responses to “100.5 The Peak FM: Radio Bliss”

  1. The Avett Brothers are my musical revelation of the year. Love the latest album, but you should check out Gleam and Gleam II, Murdered in the city is one of my all time favorite songs.

    • Wow, so mellow and sweet is Murder in the City. Listening to the Gleam records, it seems the brothers have shifted gears to the piano a little more in I and Love and You. That’s what caught my attention with Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise. January Wedding and And It Spread are good recalls of the older albums with some banjo, strings, and acoustic guitars. I’m gonna have to check out more from these guys. Too many good bands out there, not enough time!

  2. You just made us blush! What a sweet story of finding music that works for both you ad your wife.
    We are so happy you found us!

  3. Their sound has evolved but the biggest reason their sound is more main stream is I and Love and You’s producer, Rick Rubin. Not his usual sound but amazing none the less.

    Scott.

    • Yea Rick Rubin does have quite the touch, er, ear. A little different than a Slayer or a System of a Down album, but he has produced Johnny Cash and the Dixie Chicks, so I guess he kind of knows this mellower genre. Well, he obviously knows, judging by the album quality!

Leave a Reply

 
