Soundtrack to Summer 2010

Summer is officially over.  It has left the west coast of Canada, and it left quickly.  Bring on rain for the next 8 months, we can take it!

As depressing as this all is, it has fortunately been a great summer, if not year, of music!  I know that when November rolls around and it’s dark at 5pm and I haven’t seen the sun in six weeks, I can look back on the past summer and think of some great tunes that rocked the summer airwaves.

Or, at least my iPod and radio airwaves: songs by the Fruit Bats, Black Keys, Temper Trap, Band of Horses, Florence + the Machine, Hannah Georgas, Attack In Black, MGMTAvett Brothers, Arcade Fire… the list could really go on and on.  Nevertheless, these are some the groups and artists that made up my summer playlist.  I even got to see a few of them in concert, but missed out on many I wish I’d seen.

I have named some great bands that ruled my eardrums this past summer, so I would like to get your opinions!  Below are some newer, and a few older songs that have been hits of summers past, present, and most likely, future.  If you had to choose from the following songs, what would you classify as the best, or your favourite “Summer 2010” song?

If you can’t choose from below, let me know what song was the soundtrack to your summer!

  • Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic ZerosHome
  • Vince Vaccaro – Heart in Hands
  • Black Keys – Tighten Up
  • Beck – Girl
  • The Dirty Heads ft. Rome – Lay Me Down
  • K’naan – Wavin’ Flag
  • Phoenix – 1901
  • Arcade Fire – Ready To Start
  • Alice In Chains – Check My Brain
  • Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man
  • Five Finger Death Punch – Bad Company
  • Eric Hutchinson – Rock n Roll
  • Florence + The Machine – Dog Days are Over
  • Hannah Georgas – Deep End
  • Dan Mangan – Robots
  • Sublime – Doin’ Time

Let me know in the “Reply” section!

Happy Autumn!

~ by whet_hopped on September 25, 2010.

One Response to “Soundtrack to Summer 2010”

  1. The Black Keys have completely got my attention. Not only there latest album but there older stuff. They are the ultimate in soul and blues. Need to get hold of their old stuff, it is raw.
    As you can tell I choose the who;e CD as my summer soundtrack.
    For a single soundtrack I like short change hero from The Heavy.

Leave a Reply

 
