Merry Christmas & Tunes o’ the Week!

Alrighty, this is gonna be fast and furious!! We are T-minus 2 days to Christmas and holiday music is everywhere.  Am I the only one who can’t wait for January so we can move on from this music? Probably.  It’s not that I don’t like and enjoy Christmas and all that comes with it, I simply don’t enjoy listening to Christmas music with exception to Christmas Eve and Day.  And if these were the only two days of the year people were allowed to listen to X-mas music, I’m sure we’d all enjoy it that much more!  But I digress…

I just wanted to extend a warm and fuzzy “Merry Christmas” and a “Happy New Year!” to all my wonderful readers.  If you don’t celebrate Christmas, then “Happy Holidays” or “Merry Festivus”, if you so prefer.

With all that mushy stuff over with, I’d like to extend to you a few Tunes 0′ the Week that I’ve been rocking out to lately, and that you should too: (as always, click on the song titles for the Youtube links!)

The Dudes – Mr. Someone Else Not only is this song pretty rockin’, the lyrics are pretty cheeky and clever; oh, and the outro guitar solo is pretty awesome too!

Elton John & Leon Russell – If It Wasn’t For BadYes, you are reading correctly.  This is indeed a Elton John tune, and a recent one at that.  Teamed up with Leon Russell, Elton belts out a pretty decent tune that isn’t as good as Benny & The Jets but has a similar vibe and rhythm.  Have a listen!

The Arkells – John Lennon I know I just featured Oh! The Boss is Coming by this very band only a month ago on Tunes o’ the Week, but this song is just as catchy, if not moreso; some great lyrics, too.  (Youtube song starts at about 0:55 in)

Hannah Georgas – Lovers BreakdownLove Hannah, this is a nice song from her tremendously successful album This Is Good.  You’ve gotta love how her voice and the jazzy guitar tones work so well with one another. Great version of this song on the link!

Vampire Weekend – Cape Cod Kwassa KwassaA funky name for an even funkier song!  I was surprised to learn that these boys hail from New York City, considering they write such catchy, sunny tunes, such as this one.  Is it just me, or was their lastest album Contra missing a little bit of this kind of simplistic perfection.  Maybe it’s just me, but this song is a perfect example of why I enjoy listening to Vampire Weekend. I challenge you to listen to this song when you’re in a bad mood.  Your mood will lift, guaranteed!


~ by whet_hopped on December 23, 2010.

One Response to “Merry Christmas & Tunes o’ the Week!”

  1. Love the dudes.
    Leon Russell and me go way back. When I saw the You Tube of Jumpin Jack Flash (concert for Bangladesh) it reminded me of his greatest performance ever. You have to watch it!

Leave a Reply

 
