Tunes o’ the Week!

As is the way life goes, things only seem to get busier right when you think they will calm down.  I’ve got several albums to review (Folk Thief, Crossing Lions, Nat Jay), an interview to transcribe and post, as well as the West Coast Pop show tonight featuring Yukon Blonde, along with Sun Wizard and Redbird that I’m going to be reviewing for VanMusic.ca.  Exciting times in the music blogosphere indeed, but busy nonetheless.

So to tide you over, here are some fantastic Tunes o’ the Week (well, maybe it’s been a month since I posted some new tunes for the Tunes o’ the Week spot, sue me) It’s going to be very difficult for me to narrow it down to only 5 songs that are rockin’ my ear drums right now.

But I’ll do the best I can. (**Don’t forget to click on the song titles for links to the Youtube videos**)

Fresh Track:

Manchester Orchestra – Simple Math — This song is so new that the album it’s on isn’t even released yet but to be fair, it’s been spinning on the local FM dial for almost a month.  I still consider it pretty damn “fresh”, and it is a solid tune with some odd lyrics.  These boys from Atlanta, GA know how to rock a creepy ballad.

Oldie But Goodie:

Fleetwood Mac – Never Going Back Again I have to thank Glee for doing a respectable job of covering one of my favourite’s of all time.  This version actually gives me shivers, though. Shivers.

Absolutely Indie:

Ladyhawk – I Don’t Always Know What You’re SayingDon’t let the name fool you, this isn’t Ladyhawke, the female singer from New Zealand, but the indie rock outfit from Kelowna, BC.  Giving credit where credit is due, Jeff Innes of Yukon Blonde introduced me to these guys, and I love their grungy, moody, apathetic sound.  Give it a listen!

Leading Ladies:

Sidney York – Dick & JaneThis is just in case you have not yet read my bio/review of the next indie pop sensation, Sidney York. If you have not read it, read it! If you haven’t listened to this song, you are really missing out on something awesome.

Brutally Honest Track:

Brett Dennen – Sydney (I’ll Come Running)I will be the first to admit that I did NOT like this song at first. Partly because I didn’t want to like it (isn’t that snobbery at its finest?), but I’m so glad that it got pounded into my ears because it’s so much fun.  As the Brutally Honest Track, give it 3 listens and if it hasn’t ear-wormed it’s way into your head, I’ll give you money.

-Dylan

~ by whet_hopped on May 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
