My Morning Jacket for a Morning Like This with My Morning Coffee

I’m not sure if I’m more surprised or ashamed that I’ve never done a post on My Morning Jacket.  You see, this little band from Louisville, Kentucky has been around for about 12 years, but truly hitting their stride in 2003 with their phenomenal LP It Still Moves. And it’s safe to say that I’m a fan.

I was introduced to Jim James and his rag-tag posse back in 2008 thanks to Rolling Stone Magazine doing a write-up on their, then brand new album, Evil Urges.  This new album was described to be an indie rock version of Prince, full of catchy guitar hooks and great melodies.  Needless to say, I was intrigued.

After purchasing–and absolutely loving–Evil Urges, I decided to pursue MMJ’s discography a little further and happened upon the aforementioned It Still Moves while at the extinct HMV in Abbotsford.  Little did I know that Evil Urges was a little more experimental than its’ predecessors and I was, at first, let down.  But a few hooks later, and I was reeled right in, and so continued this love affair.

The thing with My Morning Jacket is that they have a bit of a unique flavour.  I’m sure Jim James’ voice will grate on many ears before it finds a pair willing to listen.  Some will find their music odd, pretentious, dull, loud, or quite simply, no good.  That’s fair, because I feel the same way about a lot of music that is deemed “amazing”, etc.

But for those who are willing to take a dip in this pool of reverb drenched vocals and pedal steel flawlessness, I applaud you, and envy your new found discovery.  Perhaps a bold statement, but it’s like a musical first kiss.

Oh and did I forget to mention that they’re playing in Vancouver tonight, and I’m going!? Yes, I believe I forgot to mention that.

Swooning.

Here are my Top 10 Kisses from My Morning Jacket. Love them, and remember to cuddle afterward: (albums italicized in brackets)

10. You Wanna Freak Out (Circuital)

9. Easy Morning Rebel (It Still Moves)

8. It Beats 4 You (Z)

7. Golden (It Still Moves)

6. Wordless Chorus (Z)

5. Dancefloors (It Still Moves)

4. Evil Urges (Evil Urges)

3. I’m Amazed (Evil Urges)

2. One Big Holiday (It Still Moves)

1. Mahgeeta (It Still Moves)

**Honourary Mention: Lay Low (Z)

Now, THAT’S a playlist.

**Editor’s note: I won’t change this Top 10, but would like to—nay! MUST—add the track Lay Low from album Z to an honourary slot on this list.  I, embarrassingly enough, did not know of this tune before I wrote this post and it kicks some SERIOUS arse (some fan I am…)**

-Dylan

~ by whet_hopped on June 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
