The ‘It’ Bands & Tunes o’ the Week

The next 'it' band: CULTS

Remember the turn of the century? The beginning of the new millenium, the Y2K *ahem* scare? The end of the ’90s, grunge, and the beginning of the end of rap-metal and gangsta rap?  I know I do, but I also remember the proclamations from the music critics that there were new “saviours” of rock’n’roll on the horizon; they were the next band you were NOT gonna wanna miss!

This ‘It’ band was the Strokes.  For those who don’t remember, or never heard, they were supposed to be the next Nirvana…or something along those lines. Needless to say, they were not.  At least, I didn’t hear much more about these boys from New York being the new rock heros.  It would be a very difficult task to live up to all that hype, and even after a fairly successful debut album, they were struggling to live up to it.

Still, The Strokes have gone on to have a fairly successful career and have amassed quite the cult following, even recently releasing Angles, their first album since 2006’s First Impressions of Earth.  But the next Nirvana?  The saviours of rock’n’roll?  I don’t think so.

The Strokes were the first band I could remember being hyped up as much as they were, but now I’m finding it happening almost seasonally.  It was just a few weeks ago I heard a few credible magazines claiming the band Cults were going to be the next big thing.  I’ve heard it about Foster the People as well as with Muse.  It turns out that most of these ‘it’ bands are no more than one-hit, or one-album wonders.  Some will break through and have maintain some staying power on the music scene, but many fade into the breeze…

…which leads me to this weeks Tunes o’ the Week!

Keeping somewhat in the “It” band theme, I give you this weeks tunes: [as always, click on song titles for video/song links!]

Fresh Track:

Cults – Oh My God — An ‘it’ band, or legit? Either way, this song tickles the eardrum with indie-pop, akin to the way bands like The Naked and Famous or Austra have been doing to me lately.

Oldie But Goodie:

Tesla – Try So HardHere’s a song that I’m sure not enough people know.  It’s not the best song in the world, but it encapsulates everything I love about Tesla. It has a pinch of the ’70s, sparkles of the ’80s and a dash of ’90s, all finished off with one of my favourite guitar solos. This is not an ‘it’ band or a one hit wonder.

Absolutely Indie:

Plants and Animals – Jeans Jeans JeansThis is one of, if not my favourite Plants and Animals tune.  This 3-piece from Montreal really knows how to write and play some real low-fi, subdued indie rock, but this one is one of their more rockin’ tunes.  With it being mostly an instrumental, except for the “Holes in my knees! Jeans, jeans, jeans”, they keep your attention by some wonderful, grooving instrumentation.  I highly recommend their 2010 release La La Land, if you like this tune.

Leading Ladies:

Redbird – In the Hands of Ghosts(Unfortunately not yet an ‘it’ band, but that’s not a bad thing) Fronted by the multi-talented Savannah Leigh Wellman, Redbird‘s debut EP We Are All Friends and Lovers Until It Falls Apart is a tasty 6-song sampler of what these kids from Vancouver, Canada are capable of.  The album is solid, but I adore the guitar tones on the haunting intro and interlude guitar lines, as well as Savannah’s voice.  This is the heaviest rocker on the album, so have a listen! 

Brutally Honest Track:

Okkervil River – Wake and Be FineAnother ‘it’ band from indie record label Jagjaguwar (Bon Iver, LiaIces, Ladyhawke) who are getting a lot of buzz of late, these indie darlings are sure to be more than just a flash in the pan.  I’ve only heard a pair of songs from their brand new album I Am Very Far but they seem to have the whole “sound” down.  At least I think so.  But hey, it’s the Brutally Honest Track, so you tell me.  

Enjoy!

-Dylan

 

 

~ by whet_hopped on July 14, 2011.

One Response to “The ‘It’ Bands & Tunes o’ the Week”

  1. Okkervil and tesla YAY

Leave a Reply

 
