The Sheepdogs: Beards – Rock – Rolling Stone

If you’re at your local magazine stand a little later on this week, and you glance at Rolling Stone Magazine and find yourself staring at some bearded dudes who appear as though they’ve been transported straight from 1976 onto your newsstand — fear not! Those long-haired, bearded gentlemen are the Sheepdogs—a band from Saskatchewan who won the contest to grace the cover of Rolling Stone Magazine.  They are the first Canadian band OR artist to ever grace the cover and they’ve been working their butts off this summer to ensure it happened.

If you don’t think this is a big deal, consider that they only have one full-length album out (just released a 5-song EP today!) and are unsigned by any major record label.  These big sky country rockers don’t only appear as though they’re straight outta the ’70s, they sound like it, too.  If you are a fan of CCR, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Guess Who, or any of these epic ’70s artists, you will most likely enjoy the sound and vibe that the Sheepdogs are putting out.  Some real guitar playing, killer harmonies and boot-stompin’ grooves will kick your ass back to Woodstock ’69.

Check out their debut album Learn & Burn here for purchase: The Sheepdogs – Learn & Burn and check out iTunes for their brand-spankin’ new 5-song EP, Five Easy Pieces that features their summertime radio hit I Don’t Know.  

**************************A few other tidbits of music news**************************

  • (Leslie) Feist‘s follow-up to her major break-out album, 2007’s The Reminder will be in stores—on and offline—October 4th, and she’ll be touring through Vancouver November 18th, playing at the Centre for Performing Arts.  Check out her tour schedule here:
  • Chickenfoot—the supergroup composed of Chad Smith, Sammy Hagar, Joe Satriani and Michael Anthony—have a new tune out available for download on iTunes, called Big Foot.
  • Arcade Fire have released a Deluxe Version on iTunes of The Suburbs that features 2 new tracks: Culture War and Speaking In Tongues (feat. David Byrne)
  • Check out Portugal. The Man‘s brand new song Got It All (This Can’t Be Living Now) FOR FREE as the iTunes Single of the Week
  • New Albums out today (Aug. 02, 2011): Fruit Bats – Tripper [!!!!]; Beirut – Rip Tide; O.A.R – King; Matt Kearney – Young Love

~ by DR on August 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: