2011: A Quick Year in Review

Cheers, from MoreThanAFeeling Music

It’s the last day of 2011, and it’s been, for the most part, a pretty incredible year.

  • This past May marked the one-year anniversary of the emergence of this somewhat self-indulgent music blog.  I’m thankful for every single person who reads it, even if you found it by googling “blind melon bee girl” and were directed to this, or searched “plants and animals of the yukon” and were directed to this.  The whole reason I started writing this blog was to spread music I considered to be “good music” and introduce others to what I would only dream would be their next favourite song, or better yet, favourite band.  Perhaps your musical tastes were not persuaded by my suggestions, but I hope you enjoyed reading the posts, nonetheless, as I try to keep them informative but equally entertaining.
  • August marked my 3-year anniversary of marriage to my beautiful, smart and witty wife.  She has been such an inspiration for me to strive to succeed as she has in her education, as well as her personal and professional success.  She has also inspired me to pursue my latest dream career of working in the music industry while I continue to pursue a higher education at university.  And she has put up with my hours spent writing this blog, tweeeting, Facebooking, Tumblng, concert-going, songwriting, and music-listening.  I couldn’t have dreamed a better woman to share my adventure with.
  • This past year—February, more specifically—I got to meet, interview and purchase a guitar from the band who inspired me to write this blog.  This meeting caused a sequence of events that gave me the chance to meet and interview a Juno nominee, which may or may not have been my musical highlight of the year.
  • The piece of the puzzle that really began to put things into place, however, came with a message from a Vancouver artist who asked me if I’d review her album on my blog.  I gleefully accepted, and although it wasn’t my first album review, it was the first sort of promo work that I would do for someone who asked me to.  I knew that this was something I wanted to do more of, and could see myself doing for a career.  This was all very exciting, so thank-you, Nadia.
  • To cap off the year, I recently began an “internship”, if you will, at a super cool music marketing company.  Not certain as to what 2012 will hold for me at this company, but I’m damned excited to find out.

There were many, many other amazing and awesome things that happened in 2011 (I became an uncle!!; Indie Music Picnic; played a gig at the Media Club!; moved into our new home!), but these are just a few MoreThanAFeeling Music highlights I wanted to share with all of y’all.

So – cheers to a wonderful 2011 and hurrah to what’s sure to be an apocalyptic  incredible 2012!

I will leave you with this, as we are now able to truly party like it’s 2012.

-Dylan

~ by whet_hopped on December 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
