Sasquatch! 2012 Lineup & 10 Bands You Should Not Miss

[Yes, I am a few days late to this party.  But really, who likes being the first one to show up to a party? Totally lame.]

So, the 2012 Sasquatch! Festival lineup was officially released earlier this week.

What the deuce is this Sasquatch! Festival thingy? you ask with a surly grimace? Well it’s the biggest annual Northwestern music festival in all of the land.  Bands from all over North America, and a few from overseas play at the Gorge Amphitheatre just outside of George, Washington, for about 3.5 days straight to fans of all shapes and sizes.  It’s like a hippie’s version of Woodstock.

Wait—what?

Woodstock in ’69 was for the hippies, but the last 2 Woodstocks (’94, ’99) were definitely not.  So along came Sasquatch! Festival in 2002 and mixed things up a little bit.  The first Sasquatch! Festival in 2002 was a one-day affair and featured only 7 artists, including acclaimed acoustic acts Jack Johnson and Ben Harper.  The festival grew annually and by 2006, it went from a one-day affair to a full weekend of music, including a Friday evening set that featured TV on the Radio, HIM, Wolfmother and Nine Inch Nails.

But I digress…

Since the announcement of this year’s Sasquatch! lineup, I’ve seen just as many folks dub it “lousy” or “boring” as I have “amazing” and “awesome”.  It seems to be a love-it-or-hate-it kind of a lineup.

(Image: SSGMusic)

There are indeed some impressive names in the large letters (which imply headliner status), but I’m actually more impressed and intrigued by some of the small-letter bands–

Don’t get me wrong: I’m super curious as to what Jack White is going to do “solo”; The Shins might be one of the best bands I have yet to see live; Feist will be delicate and mournful—in the best of ways; Beck is a veteran and is sure to entertain; and Tenacious D! (no words necessary, only exclamation point!)

The intriguing aspect of the lesser known artists is whether or not their live shows will hold up to their fantastic album sounds.  I realize just because these bands’ names are in small letters doesn’t mean they aren’t industry vets, but many of them definitely aren’t as “experienced” as the headliners, and I’d be curious as to how their sets are received by the oh-so judge-y hipster crowd…

Here are the 10 bands I would dub Do Not Miss! if anyone were to ask me (assuming all of the large-lettered headliners are givens, from Jack White to The Joy Formidable):

  1. We Are Augustines
  2. Grouplove
  3. Blitzen Trapper
  4. Said the Whale
  5. Dum Dum Girls
  6. tUnE-yArDs
  7. Spiritualized
  8. Ted Leo & the Pharmacists
  9. The Sheepdogs
  10. Alabama Shakes
**EDITOR’S NOTE: Since this post on Feb. 4th, 3 bands have been added to the Sasquatch! 2012 lineup: Santigold, Of Monsters and Men, and Graffiti6. I would like to officially tack on Of Monsters and Men to my Do Not Miss! list found above!**

If you’re going to Sasquatch! let me know who your favourites were!

-Dylan

~ by whet_hopped on February 4, 2012.

3 Responses to “Sasquatch! 2012 Lineup & 10 Bands You Should Not Miss”

  1. Great list, Dylan. I’ll be doing my damnedest to catch all the artists you’ve listed. I’m particularly happy that I’ll get to see Alabama Shakes, who were actually just in Vancouver, but I missed out on. Assuming the superiority of your list, I would extend it to include (excluding EDM acts):

    11. Gardens & Villa (a very intriguing band, think Local Natives w/ wind instruments)

    12. Here We Go Magic (semi-psychedelic indie rock band from Brooklyn, opened for Dr. Dog at the Vogue last Halloween and definitely caught my…er…ear?)

    13. Mogwai (yeah, okay, so they aren’t in the fine print, but they aren’t top-billed either)

  2. I would love to go but can’t do Coachella and Sasquatch in one year. The line-up is fairly similar so I guess I’m not missing much!

Leave a Reply

 
