Funeral Songs

Yesterday was a less than happy day.

My family attended a funeral in northwest Washington, where my cousin’s husband’s life was celebrated.  He was gunned down in Miami on July 17th in a senseless, unprovoked act of violence in his apartment parking lot.  A senseless act that preceded the Aurora massacre some 3 days later.  A senseless act that left a family grieving the life of a young man (31 years old) who was loved by all, leaving a widow who he was married to for only 10 months.  So much hope and promise, the future held.  Now, so much sadness, anger, and confusion.

Yes, yesterday was a far less than happy day.

All of my love, prayers and extra warm thoughts go out to my extended family who are suffering and dealing with this tragic, senseless loss.  I love you guys, so much.

Funerals—or ‘Celebrations of Life’—always get me thinking, as I’m sure they do for most of us.  If we only shared on a daily, or even weekly basis, the feelings and compliments we share at one’s funeral, how much more would we all feel loved and appreciated?  We say the nicest things about people once they’ve left us.  Whether they are listening to us from above or not, I don’t know, but a part of me really hopes our loved ones can hear and see what’s being said of them when they’re gone.

So many beautiful things were spoken yesterday, things that this young man deserved to hear, if he hadn’t yet heard them.  After tears were shed and the 21 rifle shots rang out (he was an ex-Marine), one of my cousins spoke to a few of us standing outside, saying that she wanted us all to know how much she truly loved each and every one of us.  It was a sentimental day, yes, but if you think about it, we don’t share these feelings with family and friends nearly often enough.  I appreciated her words, and was thankful she spoke them now, while we were all still breathing and able to process these feelings and reciprocate them.

Dallas Green sings on his City and Colour tune, Body In A Box (and truer words have never been sung):

We celebrate the lives of the dead; It’s like a man’s best party only happens when he dies.

Funerals also get me thinking about music.  Music that is playing at the particular funeral I’m attending.  Music that may be played at my funeral.  Music I DON’T want played at my funeral…  If there’s any doubt as to what music should be played at my funeral, just plug in my iPod and hit shuffle (as is what happened at the service yesterday).  Or, search back to this blog post and just throw on the following tunes:

Fast Romantics – Funeral Song

(Check out an awesome version that features Eddie Vedder helping on vocals with the rest of MMJ)

All that being said, I hope my time doesn’t run out any time soon and none of you have to hear these songs blasting on church speakers.  Although, you can be assured that when the time does inevitably come, I’ll be smiling big time from above hearing Hendrix and the BROOD being blasted in church.

And yes–they better be blasting.

-Dylan

~ by whet_hopped on July 29, 2012.

6 Responses to “Funeral Songs”

  1. Well said Dylan. How true it is that we so often leave things unsaid or assume that the people we love know how we feel about them. What a good reminder that life is too short and that we should make a constant effort to let those people know that they are love, respected, appreciated, etc while we can.
    Praying for you and your family.

  2. This made me cry. I am sorry for your family’s loss. We played The Tragically Hip’s Wheat Kings at my uncle’s funeral. It felt right.

  3. Well said my, my son!

  4. Well put! Love you cuz!

Leave a Reply

 
