5 Songs You Just Might Like – Vol. ‘No Christmas Tunes’

Kopecky Family Band (photo via band's website)

Kopecky Family Band (photo via band’s website)

I’ve been running short on words lately. They’ve had a more difficult time flowing from mind to print in the last few months. It could be that my mind is feeling a little burnt out, but it could also be that I’m just feeling a little uninspired to write as of late. I’m not sure which it is, but it’s likely a combo of both.

Regardless…

Since last week was MoreThanAFeeling Music’s Top 30 Tunes of 2012, I didn’t do a 5 Tunes You Just Might Like feature. So I am today.

Although Christmas is fast approaching, you will not find any Christmas/holiday songs on this post—or any blog post of mine, for that matter.  Not because I don’t like Christmas, but I don’t like gimmicky, cheesy Christmas music except on Christmas day.

This week features some bands that have made my ‘Best Of’ end-of-the-year lists, and also some that have not. The lead-off tune by Fort Atlantic was featured at the end of the most recent How I Met Your Mother, and quite wonderfully, I might add. Had I heard this Parlovr tune prior to creating my Top 30 tunes list, it’d probably be on there. The Kopecky Family Band track is a terribly fun tune, and delightful video to boot. Young Buffalo continue to impress me, with Upstairs as a lovely example as to why; and finally, the Said The Whale tune is what they call “an oldie but a goodie”. I think that’s what they say, yes?

5 Tunes You Just Might Like:

Fort Atlantic – Let Your Heart Hold Fast

Kopecky Family Band – Heartbeat

Young Buffalo – Upstairs

Said The Whale – Love Is Art/Sleep Through the Fire

Parlovr – You Only Want It ‘Cause You’re Lonely


-D Y L A N

~ by whet_hopped on December 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
