Heavier Things

It may be a little self-indulgent to write your first blog post of the year on your birthday, but it’s my 30th birthday today and I can post if I want to. You don’t have to read it, but as a narcissist, I hope that you do.

This new year brings—as previously mentioned—a new digit to my age that’s going to stick around for about 10 years. I’m okay with it. I had all of 29 to wallow in the fact that I only had one year left in my 20s, and I did a fair share of wallowing so now that my 20s have come and gone, I’m basically over it.

My personal theme for 2013 is “heavier things”. No, not after that John Mayer album, and not because I plan on gaining a bunch of weight, but for other reasons.

  • I want life to get a little heavier. I’m 30 now, so it’s time to stop goofing around. Not that I have been goofing around a lot, but I need to focus on the things in life that should matter to a person of my age. I’d like to start a family with my beautiful wife perhaps this year (or shortly into the next). I’d like to begin a career, even though I have another year of schooling. I want things to get a little heavy. I’m ready to grow up a little.
  • I want to listen to heavier music. Not necessarily just in the “heavy metal” sense of the connotation, but there seems to be so much fluff out there one must sift through to get to the good stuff. The heavy stuff.  The sifting can be interesting, but also painstaking. I want to listen to music that makes me feel the feels, man. Also, it should be noted that I wish to listen to actual heavier music. I want to listen to music that makes me move and groove.  It might get loud. I hope it gets loud.
  • I want to write heavier things. This is so much easier said than done, as “heavy” writings can come off as pretentious, cheesy, lame, insincere, the list goes on. I’m also fully aware that these types of writings cannot be forced, as that’s when they slide from insightful and meaningful into the realm of awful. I don’t want that.
  • I want this year to be heavy with purpose. I want to do things with meaning. I don’t want to do anything half-assed. I want to experience nature more, soak in life, truly enjoy every single day with no regrets.
  • I want to watch heavy movies. I want to watch heavier television. I don’t want to watch as much reality TV as I do. I know some people need it in a therapeutic way, but my life doesn’t beckon its senselessness. So no more Bachelor, X Factor, Big Brother, etc, etc. I will not stop watching The Soup, however, as Joel McHale wins at making fun of people who deserve it. And that’s heavy stuff, right there.

 

Is 30 too young to go through a mid-life crisis?

 

 

-DYLAN

 

~ by whet_hopped on January 15, 2013.

5 Responses to “Heavier Things”

  1. Dylan, 30 is not too young to have a crisis. I’ve learned first-hand that they happen at every age. BTW, I’m smack in the middle of having one right now. I know exactly what you mean when you say ‘heavier things.’ I’m always here if you need to talk. I get it.

  2. Happy Birthday! You’re right on track for a quarter-ish-life crisis, I think 🙂 Or, for just the next stage of your life. Anyway, I hope you share the heavy stuff you find and love, because I’d like to know about it.

  3. Heavier is good. Looking forward to what that evolves into.

Leave a Reply

 
