The 2013 PEAK Performance Project Top 20: Allow Me To Introduce You

One of the most coveted music projects in Canada kicked off another sure-to-be-successful year last night with their Top 20 Launch Party at Fortune Sound Club. Said party kicked off with the announcement of this year’s Top 20 PEAK Performance Project, followed by performances from some PPP alumni including last year’s winners, Dear Rouge, as well as 3rd place finalist Dominique Fricot and 2011’s 2nd place band, The Boom Booms.

Announced last night, here are the Top 20 in alphabetical:

  • Amble Green
  • BESTiE
  • Bodhi Jones
  • Coldwater Road
  • Dougal Bain McLean
  • Fallbrigade
  • Good For Grapes
  • Greg Drummond
  • Hannah Epperson
  • Lions In The Street
  • Luca Fogale
  • Lyida Hol
  • Melissa Endean
  • Oh No! Yoko
  • Rolla Olak
  • Rykka
  • The Lion The Bear The Fox
  • Towers and Trees
  • Van Damsel
  • Willhorse

I want to do my best to get to know these young, exuberant bands and artists in the Top 20 as I only know a handful of them, so I figured I’ll get to know them better by introducing them all to you. Each day (or so) I’ll feature one of the Top 20 bands on MoreThanAFeeling Music with a brief bio, my thoughts, and a music video.

So, without further adieu, please allow me to introduce to you in no particular order, the first band I have chosen out of this year’s Top 20:

Lions In The Street

Lions In The Street

This hard-rockin’ Vancouver band have edge, riffs, and energy—at least, that’s what I gather from listening to their 2-song EP called On the Lam. Judging by Lions In The Street’s few tunes I’ve spun, they have the potential to be one of my favourites this year (but I may be getting a little ahead of myself). I’m excited to hear a band as “rock’n’roll” as LITS in this year’s Top 20.

 

Cheers!

-DYLAN

~ by whet_hopped on June 12, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
